Author Topic: Shocks on a lift?  (Read 4169 times)

Offline arby87

Shocks on a lift?
« on: August 07, 2017, 09:14:28 AM »
I am pretty new at these trucks- and definitely new to suspensions.

87 V10, TBI, 350/700R4, 4" lift (springs up front, blocks out back), 33"x12" on 15s, frame repair and bracing welded in (was barely cracked).

Pretty sure I need new shocks. Problem is, I have no idea if the lift kit on my truck was an actual kit, and if so, which brand/style. My truck was originally outfitted with quad front shocks, but the P.O. replaced the front axle with one that only accepted a single pair.

For ordering new shocks, do I just need to measure the current ones? I have no idea what brand they are, but I am guessing they are 10+ years old.

Will also need a front steering stabilizer shock- same applies?

Offline hwh

• Frequent Member
Re: Shocks on a lift?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 11:14:25 AM »
On steering stabilizer off road design sells the factory one. Or can upgrade to the blistein. On shocks you can look at the chart they have on there website should help.

Offline arby87

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2017, 12:19:31 PM »
Seems a lot of people prefer the Bilsteins- are they that great?

Any stock steering stabilizer should work, right? I am assuming the lift kit didn't do anything to that part.

Been looking at the general purpose Bilstein 5100 series......but Amazon keeps throwing a fit because none of the ones they advertise specifically call out a model that fits my truck.

Offline hwh

• Frequent Member
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2017, 05:06:33 PM »
yes lift didnt affect stablizer.    thats the shocks i went with 5100. 

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2017, 05:56:26 PM »
Regardless of estimated lift, you need to measure and order accordingly. As far as the quad shock, you can buy the  longer bolt and appropriate spacer right at the hardware store.