Author Topic: 1976 chevy c10 250 Inline six 3 spd manual to 350 v8 th350 auto tran swap help  (Read 2877 times)

Offline DIG

• Newbie "Not a mechanic, and I dont want to be one"
Let me start off by saying I am a noob, I am NOT a mechanic and I dont want to be one but I do need to swap the engine from my 1976 chevy c10 with a 250 inline six with a 3 on the tree saginaw manual transmission to a 350 v8. Now I dont want just any regular 350 v8. Preferably I would want one with over 250hp and 300trq from factory and MUST be carbureted  but I need more information. Information like engine mount placement, transmission compatibility , clutch bell housing compatibility and other issues that might arise from the swap. If anyone has a chart or something that can show compatible engines and the factory horsepower and torque that I want then that would be amazing. I have a chart that spans from 70-96 but I wonder if older engines wouldnt be better for my use case. Another thing I want to know is if a th350 auto trans will bolt right onto my current engine and if I would need to change driveshafts, steering columns or anything else.

The whole purpose of all of this is to save money. I need a new clutch kit which would run $60-$100 which is fine if a v8 could bolt right up using the same clutch kit. If not, then could the current clutch bell housing accept the proper clutch kit for the v8. If the case is neither then would a th350 or perhaps better automatic transmission that can be had for cheap used be a better option for me? I personally would prefer auto trans for daily driving and roadtrips but I do want to do some hauling and light offroading.