73-87 Chevy _ GMC Trucks > Fuel Systems and Drivability

Dual fuel tank switching valve

(1/1)

treborjm:
Hey guys, noob here with a question...

I have a 1984 K10 Custom... It has dual fuel tanks... I will be adding a vortec 350 engine and transmission out of a 96 K1500.  I assume that I will need to change out the tank switching valve so that I can use both tanks.

Does anyone have the wiring diagram for the valve... assuming a 1987 K10, since it would have Fuel injection?

I also need that part number for that valve (1987 K10 Tank Switching valve) if anyone has it.

Thanks,

Rob
treborjm

Captkaos:
I have the 1987 (one year only switching valve for this series) for the TBI, but it is rated at only 20psi.  The 96 Vortec used Port injection which was high pressure (45-60psi), and it won't work. 
S&P ( http://hotrodlane.cc/ ) used a high pressure aftermarket switching valve on one of they converted 73-87 trucks and used the 1987 switch and harness with it.  The switch is GM 15599081. The switching harness is GM 12053117, no idea on the valve, I would call them and find out.

treborjm:
I hadn't thought about the fuel pressure issue.  Makes sense.

I found the wiring diagram on S&P's site.  I will call them and find out about the valve.

I would like to use an electronic Speedo out of a newer (91 - 92???) Blazer to go with the 4L60 (Would like to have a 4L80) trans.  Any thoughts on that one?  Part numbers, perhaps???

I have completed one other fuel injection project on a 78 El Camino.  Used TBI off of a 91 1500.  Been thinking about this one for several years.

Thanks for the info...

treb

Captkaos:
I am putting a 6.0L LSX in my 80's pickup under the projects forum along with putting a TPI/syclone ECM on my Jimmy and plan on putting a turbo on it.  The 6.0L will have the 4L80E, the TPI will just have a 700R4 or 200R4, haven't decided yet....  Still has a TH350.
Let us know what they say on the valve.  Mark is has been real helpful with info.