73-87 Chevy _ GMC Trucks > Fuel Systems and Drivability

87 chevy fuel problems

(1/3) > >>

missi:
OK bare with me, this is my first time.  I have an 1987 Chevy silverado 4X4 with a 350 TBI.  Fuel Gage has never worked, always on full.  Thought I was running out of gas but the other day it just wouldn't crank.  Adding fuel didn't help this time.  OK I have dropped the tank, replaced fuel pump and sending unit.  Still having problems.  It would crank but die when I would put it in gear.  Was gonna take it to the shop for help and got it to crank but when I added the fuel that was it. No fuel pump coming on at all.  Other people have worked on it also, heres a little about whats been done so I will be able to get some help.  I'm going crazy.  Took injectors off my 91 jimmy ,thats broke also, because at one time everything seem to work up to that point.  They looked the same.  OK, then still were having problems with the cranking or the staying cranked I'm not sure but for some reason they thought it to be faulty wiring.  So here they go and replace wire from top of yank to wherever it goes, they had forgot about the regulator.  Well the fuel pump ran even if the truck was not crank but on.  I knew that wasn't right.  So my brother figures out the regulator wasn't hooked up.  Well we get that going and still having problems with it staying cranked.  Then it needed gas for me to take it to be seen about but gas in it and boom no go.  Thats where I am at .  We are dropping the tank again to make sure everything is hooked up but we are confused about the junction block location and the fuel pump oil pressure switch.

VileZambonie: