Author Topic: bucket seats from bench seat  (Read 22107 times)

Offline ucstepside

bucket seats from bench seat
« on: October 28, 2008, 11:05:08 AM »
newbie here....I have a 78 stepside with a bench seat. What's a simple way to install buckets seat in it. I have buckets from olds aurora found in junk yard for a good price.
thanks

Offline Captkaos

• OWNER and Administrator
  • Administrator
    • http://www.73-87chevytrucks.com
Re: bucket seats from bench seat
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2008, 11:38:33 AM »
There is no simple way to install seats out of another vehicle into a pickup.  You are looking at fabricating a mounting system for it to sit on.

If you want a simple way to install buckets, get some out of a late model suburban, they basically bolt in.

Offline 80stepsideguy

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2008, 11:58:05 AM »
I bought some seats from a late 70s truck/blazer and threw the seats out but kept all the factory seat tracks and bracketry from them.I`m going to be using beretta GTZ bucket seats on them.Just gotta modify the seat frames to match up with the seat tracks and they should bolt in and fit perfectly to the stock location w/o having to modify the floor to make them fit.

thanks
pat
1980 Chevy c10 restomod:  350/700r4 12 bolt 3.73 rearend iris blue metallic
1998 Chevy 1500 S/B 2wd
1970 cougar convertible: triple white 1 of 1
2014 Hyundai Tucson Limited(my daily driver)
2023 Kia Sportage X Pro (her daily driver).
2017 Hyundai Tucson Limited(her everyday driver).

Offline SUX2BU99

• My Cardomain Site. Truck is on Page 6.
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2008, 12:13:30 PM »