General Site Info > Welcome

N Texas Newbie.

(1/3) > >>

1badgmc:
New here, I guess. I've known Chris Lucas online for many ages, so I don't feel like a total newbie. I haven't done any research on 73-87 stuff in a while, but I have a new project I'm looking at digging into with my dad's '88 crew cab dually. I'm the reason he still has it. I want it. He knows it. Now, it's time for me to invest a little bit into it and turn it into a nice tow pig for my GMC.

Here's my starting point. I don't really have any good pics of it on my computer. I guess I need to get out and find some sometime.

The camper shell was only on for a couple of months a few years ago when my parents took it on a trip.

Shot from the top of my parents' motorhome in the infield at Texas Motor Speedway this past April. The rack unfolds to give a raised viewing platform for the races. They're about to let their spot go, so the rack will be coming off permanently soon.

So that's what I'm working from. I want a big static drop. Bags would be nice, but I'm trying to keep this in a budget and keep it simple. As for the body, I want to get rid of all the conversion truck junk and just have it repainted in a nice, solid black. I plan to replace all the cab, fender and tailgate clearance lights with something a little smaller and more low profile and put LEDs in them. I also like the replacement LED taillight inserts I saw over at Stylin' Concepts. For the rear, a rollpan for sure, but I haven't yet decided if I want to shave the tailgate handle and weld a filler on it or leave the chrome trim piece in there. I have a '91 GMC Suburban grille for it, I just need to get some Celebrity composite headlights. I'm REALLY digging the one-piece window kits. They need to come out with a rear window kit now too. For wheels, I want to blast and paint the stockers black. Maybe go with some chrome trim rings, I haven't decided on that one yet.