Author Topic: I'm creating more problems than I'm fixing.  (Read 12454 times)

Offline tc197

I'm creating more problems than I'm fixing.
« on: September 17, 2016, 02:12:57 PM »
87 GMC V2500 TBI 5.7 SM465 NP208

I'm beyond frustrated with my truck right now. I've blown more hours than I want to count trying to fix a problem that didn't exist until I caused it.

Everything started a month ago. My trans was leaking so I decided to replace it. Truck ran great otherwise, no issues, just didn't want to leave puddles everywhere I went. Dropped the trans and tcase, replaced the pilot bearing, clutch, flywheel, throwout bearing, and swapped the new trans in. Took me an entire labor day weekend by myself as I've never done anything like this before. Got everything in and went to roll the truck off the ramps in my driveway and I didn't have brakes. No big deal, quickly saw I had crushed a brake vacuum line, a few hours later I had brakes again.

Everything was going fantastic. I had actually swapped the trans in successfully. It shifted and drove great, it started right up, life was good. Before going to leave for the night I decided to do a walk around and make sure I hadn't forgotten anything. Truck was running, I pulled the headlight switch on and bam - instant dead. Truck lost all power to everything. I shut the headlight off, tried to restart the truck, and it fired up and immediately died. From here on out I've had nothing but problems.

First I checked all my fuses near the e-brake, nothing was blown.

Checked the fusible links after reading about them here, saw one was cracked open so i replaced it, still nothing.

Pulled all the grounds I could find, resanded the contact points, and rebolted them all down. Still nothing.

Replaced the headlight switch. Nothing.