Author Topic: '75 C30 Dump Truck "Betsy" needs new engine for hauling  (Read 2417 times)

Offline JoeK

'75 C30 Dump Truck "Betsy" needs new engine for hauling
« on: April 29, 2020, 09:46:24 AM »
Hi everyone,  I'm an amateur driveway mechanic and I love my old work trucks because I can actually work on them myself and they don't have a bunch of electronic crapola to frazz out on me.   

So here's the story on my '75 C30 Dump Truck, I won't bother keeping it brief, cause that's not why your reading this is it?  Sorry if I ramble I'm trying to get this post up not make it perfectly organized.

Been my daily work truck since last year, though I've owned her (Betsy) for a few years now she spent her early years hauling a load of manure every week or two when I was making compost for my veggie farm.  I made the dump box myself(8Wx12Lx4H) when I bought her from a construction background there were short, wooden stakesides. I've replaced the brakes all around and various accessories in the engine bay, fuel pump, power steering, hydrobooster, fuel tank etc.  Truck has a "3" spd manual (3+granny) and a PTO gear for the hydraulic dump cylinders.

Now I'm operating a Tree Service and this beauty is working hard for me on the daily.  I added a big tool box on top of the cab, another panel to the sides so they are now 6'H in front. Hauling a lot of wood around, loads of chips, a 5K lb chipper, crap ton of tools, etc.  This truck weighs 8k lb empty when I leave the dump.  My job tomorrow will be hauling ~4-6 ton of cactus to the dump. I normally will haul 2 tons in the box at a time and she seems just fine with that.  First I need to haul the 12k lb tractor to the job site, only ~3 miles.  Moving the tractor is pushing her I think, I don't take it far from home, or very often, but it pays well to drive the tractor so why say no to work close to home if I can get it there?