Author Topic: Stalling/Stumbling - Carb issue?  (Read 5880 times)

Offline 86project

Stalling/Stumbling - Carb issue?
« on: April 17, 2008, 09:06:35 PM »
Here goes - 86 C10 - auto - 305 -  Truck idles poorly, but once it warms up, it seems to run fine (but a little rich)...It does smoke at start up (leaking valve seals I think), but I haven't had any problems after it warms up - until now.  I was driving about 45, truck running fine and then it cut out...I let off the gas and it picked back up....drove it back home (~10 miles) and it pulls normal to ~35-40mph and it starts cutting out again, consistently.....even holding the throttle consitent.....no problem under heavy throttle as long as it has had time to catch up until I get into higher mph....revs normally under no load....

I am not experienced with carbs at all, but after reading some other posts, I think this maybe my issue.  Do you guys think this is the right diagnosis? Any quick checks I can do to see if I need to purchase another carb?

Hope this rambling makes sense to someone.....

Offline gezn2

Re: Stalling/Stumbling - Carb issue?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 07:39:27 PM »
Fuel filters are cheap, I've seen a dirty one cause symptoms similar to what you're describing :(
While I was under the hood I'd look around and see if any vacuum lines were cracked open, you want to make sure the basics are right ;D
It sounds like a fuel issue, if a fresh filter doesn't square it away then deeper digging is needed, if it was running semi-okay before this stuff started happening you might be just fine with some adjustments or 'kit'.........

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 09:48:59 PM »
Not knowing what you've started out with an what you have I would suggest do a tune up and make sure you have no kinked fuel lines. Clean out the carb and see what it does.
,                           ___ 
                         /  _ _ _\_
              ⌠ŻŻŻŻŻ'   [☼===☼]