Author Topic: 1978 Chevy K20 Custom Deluxe (Old Yeller)  (Read 3963 times)

Offline EntryLevelEmployment

• I'm new in town
1978 Chevy K20 Custom Deluxe (Old Yeller)
« on: July 15, 2018, 11:45:21 PM »
Hey guys!

I bought this truck earlier this month, from my uncle. I asked him if he would be willing to sell it to me and he did for the price of $100! He didn't use it anymore, so had no use for it. It had sat for 3+ years beforehand so he gave it to me for cheap! ;D I'm not a mechanic by any means, but I am excited to learn! The only other car I've owned is a red 2003 VW golf gl. A fun car, but frustrating when it comes to maintenance. I am constantly sending it into the shop because I don't have the time or the expertise to deal with it's problems. But anywho, I'm stoked for this truck!

It'll be a daily winter car for me and my wife (we live in Montana) so most of the work I do to it in the coming months will be pertinent to getting it ready for that. Presently the things on the list are quite numerous: the heater core is bypassed cause it leaks, the blinkers don't work (but the hazards do :o), the temp sensor is fried, the fuel gauge is bouncy, one tank needs flushed, the floor has a hole, the brakes are soft, the tires are dry-rotted, it leaks coolant, oil, and power steering, and it burns oil on cold start. Oh, and the key doesn't match the doors. But hey, it runs and drives!

So far I've done the following:
-fluids
-belts
-starter
-battery
-seat (rescued from a junkyard Sierra Grande)
-cleaned it

All pretty simple stuff. In the end, I'd like to squeeze a little power out of the dog. I'll probably build it up next summer, if the oil leak isn't terminal. Maybe. (meaning if the wife allows it)

Thanks guys.
1978 Chevy K20 Custom Deluxe Regular Cab 350ci

• I'm new in town
Re: 1978 Chevy K20 Custom Deluxe (Old Yeller)
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 01:16:04 AM »
Man, pics are tricky... resizing to less than 500..... :D