Author Topic: Fixing carburetor wiring  (Read 2635 times)

Offline krigermoose

• 1986 GMC C1500 5.7L
Fixing carburetor wiring
« on: July 22, 2020, 12:55:12 AM »
I'm a complete newb when it comes to wiring, and I've been trying to figure out the wiring for my carburetor. It's an M4MED on an '86 C1500 350. You can see in the image I attached, it's the connector that plugs into the device at the top of the carburetor. I traced the wires so it's easy to distinguish them; I am trying to find where the green wire goes.

Another wire I'm trying to figure out is where the electric choke connector goes. Right now I have it tapped into the fuse box, and it gets power when the key is on. I just want that wire to go to the right place.

Thanks for the help guys btw. My previous posts have only been questions and they've all been solved by you all.

Offline JohnnyPopper

• Old Goof
Re: Fixing carburetor wiring
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2020, 10:27:32 AM »
Hard to tell what kind of choke coil you have with the pic, but if it is electric, there will be a tab on the face of the coil cover. You will need a female spade termination to connect the wire to the male spade tab.

Sorry I can't help on the carb electric device, too new for me to even know what it does... ::)
1957 Apache 3100 235 Inline 6, 3 on the tree
1973 C-20, 3+3 454 4BBL TH400  Water Injection
1978 K-10, 350 4BBL TH350 NP203 M.M. Part time Kit/Hubs
1980 C-10 under construction

Offline krigermoose

• 1986 GMC C1500 5.7L
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2020, 03:04:11 PM »
Sorry, could've worded that better. I have the connector for the choke, and it is an electric coil. I was wondering where the other end of the connection goes to. I had to get a new connector for the choke, I just don't know where to properly power it from. Maybe it's fine how it is which is tapped into the fuse box.

Online bd

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2020, 03:25:33 PM »
Rich