Author Topic: carb to EFI and trannt conversion Q's  (Read 8792 times)

Offline moelll

• New Users
carb to EFI and trannt conversion Q's
« on: July 27, 2005, 09:32:00 PM »
okay, i am completely new to the Chevy truck arena because one, i never owned a 4x4 before and two, I am a Ford mustang enthusiast. anyway. i have a 1978 Chevy CK-10 4x4 with a two inch lift, 33 inch BFG A/Ts, 350 4bbl mated to a Th400 auto. since this will most likely be my daily driver, it has to be someone economical (i'll be happy if i can get 14mpg avg). so i was thinking to myself, why wouldnt i do a Tranny swap and convert the Engine to EFI. so this is where the question arises. can i use TPI (not the TBI), computer and harness from camaros and firebirds and fit it onto my 4x4? is there any other 4-speed autos other than 700R4 that i can use? i wouldn't care if i have to though, just need to make sure that it can meet up with the strains of of a 4x4.

if you can get past the fact that i am a Ford guy and try to answer that will be much appreciated. thanks

-rob

Offline roundedline

• Administrator
Re: carb to EFI and trannt conversion Q's
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2005, 10:54:00 AM »
The TPI can be swapped with no problem.  I am gathering the pieces/parts for this right now for my 78 Jimmy.  As for the overdrive tranny, 700R4 is the best bet unless you want to go with the expensive 4l80E.

Chris Lucas
www.73-87chevytrucks.com
www.captkaoscustoms.com
Project Su
Jimmy 2WD Project

Offline jo3y1nf4nt3

• '86 swb....since high school 1996, '66 nova SS HT
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2005, 02:51:00 PM »
what /where can i go to find how-to's and benefits of converting over to tbi (or tpi)??  i did this read on some guy praising tbi over anyother.  he has info on making a 305 push 340HP and i believe with jsut a few parts interchange.  i'll look it up if anyone is interested.  (maybe i found that link on this site...not too sure. :lol )

jo3y in baytizzle (baytown y'all!)