Author Topic: SM465 Leak Help  (Read 19199 times)

Offline tc197

SM465 Leak Help
« on: July 22, 2016, 01:49:17 PM »
Hi guys I'm new to the forum and this is my first post.

I have a 1987 GMC V2500 with an SM465 4 speed (3 speed with granny) that is leaking and I'm not sure how to go about fixing it. I've never worked on a transmission before and this is my first standard truck. I've tackled a bunch of problems up to this point (water pump, power steering pump, vacuum leaks, brakes, rotors, front and rear springs, shocks, etc...)  through videos and this site but before I try this I wanted to get a few questions answered and look for some advice.

The leak is a slow drip where after a week I have a small puddle on the ground and I can't tell where it's coming from. I attached a few pictures below and one of my first questions is am I missing two bolts where this plate attached to the transmission?

Will I be dropping the transmission regardless to make any sort of repair?

Thanks for the help and let me know if there's any more information I can provide to clear anything up.

Tom

Offline zieg85

• Global Moderator
    • 73-87 GM squarebody extended cab and conversions up to 91 R/V series
Re: SM465 Leak Help
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2016, 02:22:35 PM »
Those missing bolts actually hold a brace to some engines.  My 85 V-8 doesn't have them my V-6 in my 86 did have them.
Carl 
1985 C20 Scottsdale 7.4L 4 speed 3.21
1986 C10 under construction
https://www.facebook.com/groups/248658382003506/

Offline tc197

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2016, 02:26:37 PM »
Those missing bolts actually hold a brace to some engines.  My 85 V-8 doesn't have them my V-6 in my 86 did have them.

Ok good to know thanks!

Offline zieg85

• Global Moderator
    • 73-87 GM squarebody extended cab and conversions up to 91 R/V series
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2016, 04:22:12 PM »