Author Topic: 350 rebuild  (Read 6512 times)

Offline vjfelix55

350 rebuild
« on: May 03, 2017, 04:41:47 PM »
Alright everybody after enough being disappointed by how my 81 K20 was running I decided it was time for a rebuild on my 350. This is gonna give me  a chance to fix clean and paint everything that needs those things. I'm not looking to build a high end 350 that puts out a ton of hp, just a reliable 350 that I can use as a daily. This is my first time rebuilding a motor but I'm pretty confident in my skills.

I've already stripped everything off the block, disconnected the tranny and everything holding the dang thing to the truck except motor mounts. The block will be coming out sometime within the next couple days and in the meantime I figured why not ask the experts and people who've done this before for some advice!

I'm gonna be using this thread to show my progress with the rebuild and ask any questions I may have. Here's what pictures I've got so far:

I placed most bolts back in the holes they came out of for now so I don't lose them but I'll eventually get some bags and label them accordingly.

The transmission is disconnected and will also be dropped and cleaned thoroughly (especially around the t-case)

So here's the question I've got so far: What parts/brands should I get to build an extremely reliable 350. Any parts you guys can think of. Any help is greatly appreciated and I will continue to update this thread with my progress.

Thanks everyone 

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

Online VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
Re: 350 rebuild
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2017, 05:33:48 PM »
Have fun with it.

Start putting a spreadsheet together using summits website. It will make for a good tracking sheet and record for your build. Summit stands behind their products and are good to deal with. Trust I've dealt with other lousy distributors and summit will price match.