Author Topic: Transmission Leak at multiple locations  (Read 2634 times)

Offline Rtlane

Transmission Leak at multiple locations
« on: March 07, 2019, 02:59:46 PM »
I recently purchased a 1982 C10 with a 305 and what looks like a th350 transmission. Be easy on me because I’m new to this. It’s been sitting for a couple months because I only use it if I need to haul something every once in a while right now. I’ve been noticing transmission fluid on the ground pretty much since I bought it. It has been winter, so I haven’t had a good day to investigate.

I took photos of the areas where I noticed fluid on the transmission. At first I thought it was the pan, but now I noticed some on the rear seal and also on a hose coming from the transmission had fluid dripping from it. What is this hose? See the photos for reference.

I’m going to clean up the area soon so I can tell where its coming from a little better and then put it on ramps to get a better look.

It looks to me that there are various leak points that probably have been neglected by the previous owner. It doesn’t seem plausible that all the places started leaking at the same time. So there are 3 potential places that are leaking. I’ll update the post whenever I investigate it further.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: March 07, 2019, 03:04:12 PM by Rtlane »

Offline Ed4all10

Re: Transmission Leak at multiple locations
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2019, 07:25:59 PM »