Author Topic: Hello from Washington state.  (Read 2775 times)

Offline SinisterC10

Hello from Washington state.
« on: September 26, 2016, 06:24:26 PM »
Hello everyone, my name is Bill and I live in Washington state. When I'm not working on vehicles I am a computer technician for a local business. I have had two Kidney/pancreas transplants and am currently recovering from the latest ones.

I decided to join the site because I recently purchased a 1981 c10 Shortbed Chevy and figured this to be the best site to join. I have been a lifetime Gold member on NastyZ28.com for over 15yrs. I have extensive knowledge of the second generation Camaros but hoping to learn some new things about the truck I have now.

The 81 Shortbed I have has a 350 sbc with a 700r4 transmission. The engine has headers, intake, carb and cam. I know it is not the original engine as the VIN number indicates it originally had a 350 diesel in it.....yuck. As far as the transmission goes, I'm not sure if this truck came with the 700r4 or not.

I figure the truck is either a Cheyenne or a Silverado. It has plush carpet, headliner, carpeted door panels and power locks, Windows and had cruise control at one time.  The major issues the truck has right now is that there is a fingernail sized rust bubble under the paint up above the passenger window but not on the cab corner and also both doors are a PITA to shut and the passenger door sticks out past the body down on the bottom corner. I tried adjusting the strikers but that didn't help. Other than that it just needs a dash pad and a new AC box (I plan on putting in vintage air). The truck was painted 6yrs ago and at that time they installed new weatherstripping on the entire truck. It has also been lowered all the way around with lowering springs and has a small C notch in the rear frame rails.