Author Topic: How to drive the np203  (Read 15428 times)

Offline westsidek20

• Registered Users
How to drive the np203
« on: October 02, 2010, 12:07:54 PM »
Hello to all  ;D my first post, my first 73-87 truck  ;) , mine is a K20 with V8 350, th400 and a NP 203.
What is the proper way of driving the truck? i know the NP 203 is a fulltime 4wd, while driving on the road and highway, does my NP203 has to be in "N" with unlocked hubs? and actually this is my first 4x4, so I'm really new with all of this.
Any info will be appreciated, thanks.

Offline Blazin

• Blazin new trails!
  • Global Moderator
Re: How to drive the np203
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2010, 04:03:58 PM »
Unless someone has updated the truck 203s never had hubs.
Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs

Offline Irish_Alley

• Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Family is not an important thing. It's everything.
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2010, 04:04:13 PM »
The 203 is set up like this
l(lock)
L(unlock)
N
H(unlock)
H(lock)
You wana drive it in h(unlock) if you have it there and your hubs are unlocked also and you still move you have a part time kit installed which is a good thing keep it like that saves gas and puts all the power to the rear. If you ha e it in h(unlocked ) and your hubs are unlocked it hush means you don't have a part time kit installed and you have to lock your hubs the power will go to the wheels with least resistance not goodbif your in the mud then you want it to be locked. Most time if someone put manual hubs on they also went with the part time kit
If you can’t tell yourself the truth, who can you tell it to?~Irish_Alley

When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth ~Sherlock Holmes

Offline The dream

• Registered Users
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2010, 07:46:39 PM »