Author Topic: performance parts  (Read 4307 times)

Offline ammmotroop

performance parts
« on: December 14, 2003, 02:29:00 AM »
I am thinking about some performance mods to do to my 1985 K10 w/350. Any suggestions. So far i am adding an Accel high performance cap and rotor. Accel Super Stock wires. Bosch Platinum 2 plugs and a 14" open element air cleaner. I was also thinking about an Edelbrock Performer intake manifold and Edelbrock Performer 600 CFM carb. Should i go EGR or non EGR on the carb and intake? As far as Exhaust i want to do Headers but am unsure because i hear they can leak when it is cold and in the winter it can get to -40 hear. I also want true duals but know shop will modify the cat and i cant weld. For now i was thinking of a Flowtech raptor muffler because they are inexpensive. Anyone hear good or bad about those. Any suggestion would be great but keep in mind that i am new at this and simple upgrades would be better.

Offline 77bowtie

Re: performance parts
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2003, 09:25:00 AM »
Don't let cold weather keep you away from headers. I've lived in Alaska for years and never had a prob with headers there. Just get good studs/bolts, & keep em tight. I run Hooker Comp headers, good fit. Headers & intake manifolds are the simplest way to get HP & torque gains from your engine. I'm running an Offenhauser 360* intake with a 1''-4-hole carb spacer. Holly 600cfm carb #1850. Hooker makes a complete dual exhaust system that you could get for your truck. Good Luck & enjoy your truck...Jon
Get your hands on some good Chevy engine/performance/truck books. Check out Summit & PAW catalogs. Read,study about what you want to do to/with your truck. Idea's are unlimited. Enjoy!!

Edited by: 77bowtie at: 12/14/03 9:29 am

Offline stepside454

Re: performance parts
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2003, 11:06:00 AM »