Author Topic: 79 Chevy C10 350 need to pump gas 3x on cold start and be fully warm before move  (Read 4070 times)

Offline brody287

Hi everyone,

I'm a brand new user here so first off let me introduce myself. I just purchased a beautiful green 79 Chevy C10 with a 350 from my father in law, which was his dad's farm truck before he passed. It's in great shape, well taken care of, but of course it has some things that need fixing.

It runs beautifully when it is warm, but when starting cold I have to pump the gas exactly 3x and then start it, and give it gas as it starts. Then I need to keep my foot on the gas while it warms a little or else it will stop, it won't idle until it is warmed up. If I try to drive away before it is warm it will die, but only in drive! I'm always able to put it in reverse and back up, but it won't go forwards until it is nice and warm.

I'm a complete newbie to these trucks and I'm a fairly inexperienced backyard mechanic, so please don't hesitate to dumb things down for me. My first thought is I need to adjust the choke or the idle. So I did my best to adjust the choke so that it's just closed when cold and fully open when warm, and that seems to be working alright (it wasn't far out anyway), but I haven't touched the idle yet. I am a bit perplexed because the truck will idle fine when warm, so it doesn't seem to me like I need it to idle higher, but I have heard that if it's not idling high enough it will die on take off, which sounds like my issue.

Another piece of the truck's history is that the right auxiliary tank had a hole in it (rust I'm assuming) that was patched before I purchased it. Perhaps a fuel pump has gone bad? I have a vacuum/fuel pressure gauge to test if I knew where to begin! Any thoughts on where I should start to diagnose this issue?

Thanks

Offline zieg85

• Global Moderator
    • 73-87 GM squarebody extended cab and conversions up to 91 R/V series