Author Topic: No spark  (Read 3524 times)

Offline Tkdb

No spark
« on: January 14, 2018, 11:12:41 PM »
Hello all. I've got a '74 c10 with a 350 that I just finished a little freshening up on. I reinstalled the distributor and ran a new key-on 12v wire to the coil and a new ground for the distributor. The distributor is an MSD model#8360. Everything is wired in accordance with the diagram provided by msd. I have power at the +terminal of the coil with key on and I have verified it has a good ground. I've also verified the rotor is spinning while cranking. However I have no spark at the plugs and no spark from the coil to the distributor. How and what do I start checking next to start the process of elimination? Any help is much appreciated, I've got little experience with ignition components and am out of ideas. Thank you very much in advance!

Offline Henry

• Frequent Member
Re: No spark
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2018, 01:51:48 PM »
Hi Tkdb:
Sounds as if your coil is weak...do you have a 110V test light to check for open and grounded circuits? If not, call a car parts place and see if they can test if for you. Do you know the checks to make with a test light?
Regards,
Henry

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2018, 05:31:52 PM »
Where did you install your coil + from? Make sure it's a full 12v source with key on AND during crank. Don't use the resistance wire.
,                           ___ 
                         /  _ _ _\_
              ⌠ŻŻŻŻŻ'   [☼===☼]
              `()_);-;()_)--o--)_)

74 GMC, 75 K5, 84 GMC, 85 K20, 86 k20, 79 K10

Offline Tkdb

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2018, 05:57:26 PM »
Hi Tkdb:
Sounds as if your coil is weak...do you have a 110V test light to check for open and grounded circuits? If not, call a car parts place and see if they can test if for you. Do you know the checks to make with a test light?
Regards,
Henry