Author Topic: 1979 C20 Subruban dies while taking off  (Read 3313 times)

Offline 79C20Burban

1979 C20 Subruban dies while taking off
« on: April 11, 2017, 09:11:20 PM »
So my Suburban has a 454 TH400. When I drive her she drives perfect until she gets to operating temp then she starts backfiring and surging when I go to take off from a light. I just got her and I'm new to these trucks any help would be much appreciated. Mods are as followed
Street Fire MSD Box HEI Distributor idk brand had it already when I purchased it. Hedman Ling Tube Headers also a custom plate for the fuel lines that run close to the passenger side header and the lines are also heat wrapped. I've changed the spark plug wires cause when I bought her one was arching off the header also did the plugs AC Delco.

Offline 79C20Burban

Re: 1979 C20 Subruban dies while taking off
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2017, 06:00:43 PM »
Anybody else had a problem like this one before if so what was the problem? Thanks in advance

Offline blazer74

« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2017, 07:28:45 PM »
I'd start with a coil, no need for that MSD business in my opinion. I'd run GM's HEI setup stand alone but that's just me.
Coils can break down when hot

Offline bd

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2017, 09:05:01 PM »