Author Topic: Noob Here Needing All sorts of guidence  (Read 5220 times)

Offline EngineeringSquatch

Re: Noob Here Needing All sorts of guidence
« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2017, 08:54:26 PM »
My plan is to pull the dually fenders off and drive it as is for the mean time. I know the bed has been cut but I will either put bushwacker fender flares over it or replace the sides eventually. I also got a bunch of pictures today which may help with the diagnosis a little better. The 4 wheel drive system still baffles me.

Below you can see the side that was widened and how the other side hasn't been. I was wondering how bad of an idea it would be to just buy a 3" wheel spacer slap it on the one side and forget about it.

« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2017, 08:58:06 PM »
here are some more pics

« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2017, 09:06:14 PM »
and more

« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2017, 09:08:02 PM »
and more

Offline DustyRusty

« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2017, 06:40:21 PM »
"...the guy has two 14 bolt rear-ends 3:73 and 4:10 225$ a piece. "

IMO, those prices seem okay if they are full floaters.  And, as said, determine what ratio the front axle has so they match.

"I was wondering how bad of an idea it would be to just buy a 3" wheel spacer slap it on the one side and forget about it."

IMO, I would not do that.  They were likely trying to correct a perceived problem by jerry-rigging a solution.  It's a poor fix at best and a safety hazard at worst.  I would recommend one of the two axles you have located if in otherwise good condition.

I think it's worth fixing.  Keep up the good work.
1975 K-10 SWB Fleetside - 350/SM465/NP205/D44F 12-boltR, 3.73 gears.  Original owner.
Customized by rust.

Offline North Central Ohio

« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2017, 01:34:21 AM »