Author Topic: 700r4 question  (Read 3724 times)

Offline Jerr-conn

• Registered Users
  • Retired tool maker
700r4 question
« on: June 22, 2017, 10:28:16 AM »
My 87 350 tbi short box has a 700r4. Just had the tv cable adjusted. When flooring accelerator,
There is no passing gear or down shifting. Is there supposed to be either? It shifts good, but I
Think  it stays in 2nd gear too long. Ideas?
Jerry

Offline Irish_Alley

• Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Family is not an important thing. It's everything.
Re: 700r4 question
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 11:11:06 AM »
there should be a kick down. ive heard of the cable breaking or becoming detached inside of the trans. im no expert on these trans and ive never even touched one. but use the search button and see what you can find
If you can’t tell yourself the truth, who can you tell it to?~Irish_Alley

When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth ~Sherlock Holmes

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2017, 11:14:24 AM »
My 87 350 tbi short box has a 700r4. Just had the tv cable adjusted. When flooring accelerator,
There is no passing gear or down shifting. Is there supposed to be either? It shifts good, but I
Think  it stays in 2nd gear too long. Ideas?

You had it adjusted or adjusted it yourself? Which way did you go, tighter or looser? Was it fine before the adjustment? Why did you have it adjusted?
,                           ___ 
                         /  _ _ _\_
              ⌠¯¯¯¯¯'   [☼===☼]
              `()_);-;()_)--o--)_)

74 GMC, 75 K5, 84 GMC, 85 K20, 86 k20, 79 K10

Offline bnoggle

700r4 question
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2017, 01:06:26 PM »
If it is a HEI distributor, you could try replacing the electronics under the distributor cap. Sometimes they can cause shifting problems.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: June 22, 2017, 06:27:59 PM by bnoggle »

Offline Jerr-conn

• Registered Users
  • Retired tool maker