Author Topic: Setting the timing. Unable to get a clear view of the harmonic balancer.  (Read 2470 times)

Offline PushrodV8

Howdy all.
So I just finished swapping out all the TBI electronics \ intake \ etc.

The HEI is installed, the truck is running but I'm unable to get a clear view of the timing pointer.
With the timing light, I can just see the line on the balancer but finding a vantage point for the light to reach the pointers is proofing to be a little "tricky".

All the vids I've seen show the point of view being directly above the belt assembly (peering behind\through the arms of the water pump) or from the driver's side.
Both of these locations aren't really working so great. The AC compressor blocks the driver's side and from directly above I can't really make out much of anything.

Currently it starts up and runs good but I feel like the throttle response is a bit laggy.
*I'm a bit new to SBC (I've always been a SBF guy) but there's a definite lag when throttling up.

Right now the vacuum advance ported\full is blocked off on the carb.
The air\fuel mix is set to standard 1.5 turns on both.

Can someone point me to the best POV to get a clear shot for the light and my eyes?

Thank you!  8)

Offline bd

• Global Moderator
...I've always been a SBF guy....

There's your real problem....    :P

Now that that's out of the way, time the engine from the position that gives you the best line-of-sight to the stationary timing marks attached to the block.  With the engine off, use a flashlight to find the best LOS - on a factory TBI engine, that's usually at an oblique angle from the fan shroud down past the inboard side of the R4 compressor and P/S pump.
Rich
It's difficult to know just how much you don't know until you know it.
In other words... if people learn by making mistakes, by now I should know just about everything!!!
87 R10 Silverado Fleetside 355 MPFI 700R4 3.42 Locker (aka Rusty, aka Mater)

Offline Stewart G Griffin