Author Topic: 10-bolt Pinion bearings  (Read 8790 times)

Offline velojym

• Frequent Member
10-bolt Pinion bearings
« on: January 27, 2008, 07:17:46 PM »
*sigh*

Two problems have come up on the lovely '87 Blazer I bought...
one is a minor leak in the heater core (yeah, like that's ever minor when you're trying to see out a
coolant-clouded windshield), and the other is an apparently very loose pinion on the rear diff.

Yeah... I crawled under to see how bad the u-joints were... and they seemed pretty tight. I was worried
that the noise I was hearing was from the diff, but I'd held out hope for a simpler, less expensive problem.
Nope. When I wiggled the rear of the driveshaft, the pinion wagged like my dogs' tails.

Crap.

I'm an airplane mechanic, and not used to heavy drivetrain parts. How much trouble am I really in?
...and will it be easier to go ahead and find a 14 bolt?

Offline werewolfx13

• Site Supporters
Re: 10-bolt Pinion bearings
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2008, 08:01:38 PM »
a 14 bolt rear end will have 8 lugs, whereas yours will have 6..You can swap it in no problem, but you'll need to use 8 lug wheels in back, and 6 lug wheels in the front..unless you swap your front differential for an 8 lug dana 44 or 60 as well..

Unless there are conversion axles for the front differential that would let you use a 10 bolt diff with 8 lug hubs? I don't know if such a beast exists..
Chris
'83 Chevy c10 Silverado SWB
'76 Chevy k20 LWB 6.5'x8' Flatbed
“I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.”

Offline velojym

• Frequent Member
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2008, 08:07:39 PM »
Yeah, I kinda had that in mind, and I don't really plan on stressing the 10-bolts too much anyway.
So... I'm looking for the cheapest way I can reliably solve this problem.
I don't plan on going bigger than 33" tires, and will only slightly warm up the stock 350 mill. I don't