Author Topic: No Heat, No A/C  (Read 4005 times)

Offline theaddictedchef

No Heat, No A/C
« on: January 13, 2013, 11:45:34 PM »
I'm a newbie as you can see.....

I have a '73 K10 and the heater was dc'd from the motor in the engine compartment.  Also, heater hoses bypassed the heater core (did I explain that correctly?) and go directly from the block to the radiator. 

I connected the wires to the blower just to see if the fan would come on and nothing.  I think I am starting from scratch.  I read the post on replacing the blower motor with a '94 and I was in Autozone today and it is $16 for a new blower. 

So my question is - where should I start?  I'm new at this mechanical stuff and I don't even have the right terminology down so I might just post pictures until I figure out what I am talking about. 

Thanks guys - the info so far has been great.
The Journey IS the Reward......

Offline bake74

• Build Thread
Re: No Heat, No A/C
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 06:12:05 PM »
     Replacing the blower motor will take care of the blower motor issue.  But, it depends on if the heater actually works anymore.  This might be why the p.o. Bypassed the whole system. ( it seems that he might have bypassed the heater system because the core possible got plugged ).
     If the heater core went out then that requires a more in depth repair.
     Did you hook your blower motor straight to 12 volts to see if it worked, or did you use the trucks electrical system ?
     I would make sure the blower motor is bad first, then replace and see if rest of system is working.  Maybe you get lucky and that is all that is wrong.
     If you need more help we are here to help you out.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2013, 06:13:59 PM by bake74 »
#1: The easiest and most obvious solution to any problem is 99% of the time correct.
#2: There is no such thing as impossible, it just takes longer.
  74 k10, 77k10    Tom

Offline Jason S

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 10:00:55 PM »