73-87 Chevy _ GMC Trucks > Power Windows & Door Locks

Wiring up power windows and door locks

(1/12) > >>

75chevyk20:
Hey so I'm new to this thing, this is actually my first post. I was wondering if anyone out there had a wiring schematic or knowledge of the power windows and door lock wiring on a '77 c20. After my wife backed my tow mirror into a poll, ripping holes in my door, I found a set of good doors with collapsible mirrors, for $30. This set of doors is out of a '77 c20 with power windows and door locks. To wire these up is it just a matter of running power and ground or do I need to buy any relays or other miscellaneous parts to get these working? Any help is appreciated.

Captkaos:
The wiring diagrams are in the Tech section along with the manuals for each year.

frotosride:
If you want the windows to move at a slowest speed possible then factory wiring will work great but If you would rather upgrade a little since you are running wires either way, I'd recommend relays. Currently the factory switches carry al of the load and crate a lot of voltage and amperage drop just simply sue to their design which is poor if you have ever opened one up. Four relays and a ground off the motor and you will one have fast powerful window action but also the electric motors will last longer due to not being starved for power. I will look up the wiring diagram the I'm doing and you can see how simple it is. Jusst make sure that you get quality relays...its a must.

frotosride:
Here's the diagram that I'm using and many have had a lot of success with. It's simple to se how using the relays to send full power is a drastic benefit over the factory switch. the best thing is that you maintain the switches and use them as switching power for the relays.

frotosride: