Author Topic: 79 chevy lifter adjustment need help one wont stay tight.  (Read 3664 times)

Offline VTK5Mudder

79 chevy lifter adjustment need help one wont stay tight.
« on: March 24, 2016, 01:13:16 AM »
I need to adj. the lifters on my 79 chevy 350and I'm not really good at this [ tried it years ago on a 327] my son adj. them when he replaced the head gaskets and think there ok but one it doesn't seem to stay tight . he has adj. it twice and it loosen up again he thinks its the nut that's not stay tight and need to get another .but I'm not sure if hes adj. the rest of them right there not making any noise but think hes just tighten them down till they stop making noise . I had a guy one time do the adj. for me and he over tighten all of them . I'm trying to get this truck up and going so I can play in the mud and a little trail riding . do you think all I need to do is get another nut for the lifter that's making the noise or is there more to it ? thanks for any help on my problem .

Offline blazer74

Re: 79 chevy lifter adjustment need help one wont stay tight.
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2016, 01:18:07 AM »
Check the rocker  stud and see if it's pulling out of the head, they are pressed in.

Cracked rocker arm, bad lifter also.

Try a new nut and rocker if u find nothing else to start with.

Offline VTK5Mudder

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2016, 01:16:15 AM »
ok ill give that a check just as soon as are weather turns good again up here in vt we are back to snow but its suppose to turn good again in a day or 2 . if the stud is loose what do I do ? I had a guy say something about that to me in the fall and he said to take a hammer to it . it sounded a little strange but ? thanks

Offline gunrac

• Frequent Member
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2016, 07:37:59 AM »