Author Topic: How do you change Transfer case oil? T case not shifting smooth  (Read 5316 times)

Offline Hillbillydrums

How do you change Transfer case oil? T case not shifting smooth
« on: December 09, 2014, 10:40:14 PM »
Total newbie with transfer cases, bear with me. Where do you drain and fill the t case anyways? I've never done so.

And I want to do so because I'll go to shift the t case, in neutral like I should be in, then push around the t case shifter, and it's always so stiff and what have you. Every now and then it'll get stuck in neutral and I cant get it into lo or hi. So I have to sit there untill I wiggle it out.

Low oil? Bad oil? Bad transfer case?
1972 C10 (Passed down since great granddad bought it new in '72)
1973 K5
1975 K10

Offline FlatBlack77

• Cheap Fast Reliable - Pick 2
Re: How do you change Transfer case oil? T case not shifting smooth
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 11:01:41 PM »
sounds like the shifter needs at least lubed up. but probably should be taken apart, cleaned/lubed, and put back together.

start by taking off the shifter boot on the floor pan and see what it looks like
"When you are a hammer, everything looks like a nail"
'77 C/10 - 350/350 mild street motor

Offline Chadwick717

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2014, 08:55:45 AM »
Mine did this as well.  Probably just your shifter mechanism. I took off the boot and sprayed a bunch of PB blaster down there, let it sit, and everything loosened up nicely.

If you want to change your oil, it's not hard, but there are some minor differences depending on what transfer case you have. Do you know which one you have?

Offline Irish_Alley

• Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Family is not an important thing. It's everything.
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2014, 11:51:09 PM »