Author Topic: unknown drop - which shocks to use  (Read 2097 times)

Offline Ranzag

unknown drop - which shocks to use
« on: April 20, 2020, 03:14:11 PM »
First off, I am not a mechanic, and i have limited mechanical experience - but i'm trying to learn.

I bought a 79 GMC stepside from a guy, who bought it from a guy, who bought it from a guy,....
The truck was lowered by one of the many previous owners, but i'm not 100% sure how.
The rear axle was flipped, and i'm assuming that was all that was done to the rear.
The front... no idea - my assumption is that the springs were either cut or heated until it dropped.
I'm pretty sure the shocks are totally shot, so i want to swap them out.

It's not a yearly driver, just a summer toy - It'll be lucky to get 1000 km on it this year
I plan on eventually getting proper drop spindles/drop springs, but that isn't in my budget this year.
What do i need to do to figure out which shocks i should purchase that would get me through the summer, and maybe next summer.

Offline JohnnyPopper

• Old Goof
Re: unknown drop - which shocks to use
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 08:44:05 PM »
Congrats on getting a cool truck!

There's no easy way to say what you need-

The only thing to do is pull the existing shocks, look for ID of some type, google numbers on the shocks, and see if you can match them.

I don't know if you have a NAPA nearby, but those guys usually have catalogs that are rich with factoids.

I would say 'good luck' but 'luck is for Rabbits'  ;)
1957 Apache 3100 235 Inline 6, 3 on the tree
1973 C-20, 3+3 454 4BBL TH400  Water Injection
1978 K-10, 350 4BBL TH350 NP203 M.M. Part time Kit/Hubs
1980 C-10 under construction

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2020, 06:51:57 AM »