Author Topic: Rear axle width  (Read 3118 times)

Offline Mario

Rear axle width
« on: May 25, 2018, 09:29:35 PM »
I recently purchased a used 10.5" 14 bolt axle from a 1994 van.  The WMS to WMS width is 70" with a pinion offset of 1-1/2".  My truck is a '81 K20 Silverado with 9.5" 14 bolt, and WMS to WMS width of 67".  As you all know the front axle WMS to WMS is wider by 2" on each side.  I have a plan to cut both tubes on the 10.5" full floater, remove a 1/2" from both sides, and swap the left to the right and vice versa.  This plan would center the pinion, and create a WMS to WMS of 69".  I use my truck as a daily driver, I occasionally haul with it, and rarely take it off road.  It has a 4" lift so I don't take turns fast, but I do drive it fast down the interstate.  I know there are some former GM guys on here.  Are there any handling type issues with making the rear end closer in width to the front end?
Mario
Santa Cruz, NM
1972 C10 4x4 350 350TH NP205
1981 K20 355 NV4500 NP208 GM14SF GM10
2005 3500 Duramax Allison 5spd

Offline VileZambonie

• Global Moderator
Re: Rear axle width
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2018, 07:13:06 AM »
The only thing I ever noticed from increasing the rear track width was less body roll and improved handling. It doesn't hurt that it looks much better too. I've always just used staggered wheels with 2WD's or 2" adapters on 1/2 ton 4x4's. 3/4 and upis a non-issue. I don't buy the better handling narrow rear track stories, more like production cost savings.

So I'm not understanding what exactly you are trying to accomplish with cutting up this rear end you bought. Seems like a lot of time effort and costs. What's wrong with the 14 bolt that's in there?
,                           ___ 
                         /  _ _ _\_
              ⌠¯¯¯¯¯'   [☼===☼]
              `()_);-;()_)--o--)_)

74 GMC, 75 K5, 84 GMC, 85 K20, 86 k20, 79 K10

Offline 1967KaiserM715

• 1985 GMC K1500 w/ 6.5 TD
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2018, 09:04:36 AM »