Author Topic: '82 C10 Engine Identification / High Idle Issue  (Read 9730 times)

Offline keegxwill

'82 C10 Engine Identification / High Idle Issue
« on: October 18, 2015, 03:18:10 PM »
Hey guys! This is my first post and it's a bit much..  :-[
I recently purchased a 1982 Chevy C10 pickup. This is my first old vehicle to own and I have little experience.

I knew it needed a bit of work when I bought it, but it started to become overwhelming a few weeks ago. The more I'm learning and digging, I'm finding that the PO lied about various things, and neglected to mention others, and I'm figuring out more and more nonsense that's wrong with it and realizing I paid too much, but so it goes. I guess that's happens with these older vehicles sometimes.

First thing, I'm still not sure what engine it has in it. The VIN says that originally it came with a 305, but the PO said specifically that it was a 350. I don't care which it is, but I need to know for proper specification purposes.
The engine code on the pad under the alternator reads "V0905PAC". The thing is, I can't find any listing of a "PAC" engine code suffix. So far, I've changed the spark plugs and wires and battery with ones that work for either application, but I'm sure I can't do that every time. Is there another way to tell what it is?

I am having a problem I can't pin down. I have high idle in park and neutral. In drive and reverse, it idles normally. I don't have a tach, so I'm not sure just how high the high idle is, but I know it's more than a couple hundred rpms. There's no smoke from the exhaust. Doesn't miss at any speed. Runs well otherwise.

I had originally believed that the problem lied within the carburetor, but I just replaced the carburetor with a brand new one and am having the same problems. It might still be carburetor problems, and my lack of common sense that is complicating the situation. I'm not sure. The carburetor is an Edelbrock 1406.