Author Topic: 1973 Blazer fuel prime issue and vapor question  (Read 2245 times)

Offline KyleK

1973 Blazer fuel prime issue and vapor question
« on: December 21, 2018, 09:47:19 AM »
Hello all. I’m hoping the group can help me with a fuel issue I’m having. I am a newbie (but teaching myself quickly), and need a little help. I can’t rely on anything the previous owner has done due to some other issues we’ve found/fixed (but that’s another story). Sorry for long post, I just want to provide all of the details.

Vehicle: 1973 Chevy Blazer, 350 V8, 5.7, carb, mechanical fuel pump, single fuel tank (31 gallons I believe)

Background: Prior to changes, the motor ran fine (after an intake gasket fix), and pulled fuel into carb with no issues. The two issues to fix were the fuel gauge pegged to below empty, and the fuel filler hose was dry rotted, and spilled a lot of fuel when filling it.

Steps Taken:
-          Disconnected hoses, lowered tank
-          Removed fuel sending unit, all looks good and functioning (put back in with new seal)
-          Corrected wiring on fuel sending unit and ground (that fixed the fuel gauge issue)
-          Put back together with new fuel line hose (3/8”), return line hose (5/16”), fuel filler hose, fuel filler vent hose (1/2”)
-          Reconnected all hoses, refastened tank with new straps and anti-squeal
-          Note: The fuel line outlet (shown by red arrow in image) actually swivels a little. Should it do that?

Result of Steps:
-          I can fill the tank now with no spills/issues (put in about two gallons I had in a container)
-          Fuel gauge works with no issues

New Problem: