Author Topic: changing distributor  (Read 6233 times)

Offline popsthebuilder

• Registered Users
changing distributor
« on: February 14, 2013, 12:07:55 PM »
(73 c20 350) I am attempting to change the distributor out. The distributor that is in now is an aftermarket Accel model with a performance control module mounted on the housing with numerous wires going from module to coil. The oem replacement only has one wire to hook to the coil. What should I do with the control module? Will the replacement distributor work with only the one wire? Also, I replaced the coil it states that it is to be used with external resistor. My manual says nothing about this. Is that the same thing as the control module? Forgive my ignorance. I'm not a mechanic, and don't claim to be. Any info/ insight would be helpful/ appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Offline bake74

• Build Thread
Re: changing distributor
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 03:46:37 PM »
     Are you putting the point system back in ?  You should switch to a HEI distributor.
http://www.oldengine.org/unfaq/hei.htm
#1: The easiest and most obvious solution to any problem is 99% of the time correct.
#2: There is no such thing as impossible, it just takes longer.
  74 k10, 77k10    Tom

Offline popsthebuilder

• Registered Users
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 03:51:54 PM »
What are the benefits of the HEI over the conventional oem points distributor?

Offline DanInMichigan

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 04:46:32 PM »
Points are mechanical and subject to wear.  They require more frequent maintenance than an HEI.  HEI probably has greater spark energy than a stock points setup.  Points can bounce at high rpm.  I've had HEI units well over 7000 rpm.

HEIs are simple to hook up.

Dan

Offline DanInMichigan

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2013, 04:54:57 PM »