Author Topic: Some fuses always have power?  (Read 2019 times)

Offline runnergeorge

Some fuses always have power?
« on: May 12, 2020, 11:00:03 PM »
Hey everyone! First time posting! I have a 75 Cheyenne 350 fleetside Lwb. This is my first classic truck and I am learning everything trial by fire so please don't rip my head off too badly lol.

So, I recently noticed that after not driving the truck for about a week I had a dead battery. It has been engrained into me to always check fuses and grounds to start with. I checked them after I charged the battery and it I found my A/C heater fuse was reading just about 12 v with the ignition off. To my knowledge I have followed the wires in that circuit according to the wiring diagrams on here and I didn't find anything of great concern. So my question is are some fuses supposed to be energized even with the ignition off?

Thanks, and sorry in advance I'm a super noob.

Offline bd

• Global Moderator
Re: Some fuses always have power?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2020, 03:24:14 AM »
Some fuses will measure battery voltage at all times (B+), some will measure battery voltage with the ignition switch in the run and crank positions (I+), and others will measure battery voltage with the ignition switch in the run and accessory positions (Acc).

Where is the fuse that concerns you located?  Have you used an ammeter to measure current draw from the battery with everything switched off?  Does the truck have a clock or aftermarket radio?
Rich
It's difficult to know just how much you don't know until you know it.
In other words... if people learn by making mistakes, by now I should know just about everything!!!
87 R10 Silverado Fleetside 355 MPFI 700R4 3.42 Locker (aka Rusty, aka Mater)

Offline runnergeorge

« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2020, 10:57:54 AM »