Author Topic: Belts  (Read 1788 times)

Offline Payton1979Silverado350

Belts
« on: July 16, 2017, 11:27:20 PM »
I am not very experienced. I recently got my first truck in June ( a 79, 3/4 Silverado 350,4x4). A belt the gose to the air compressor recently started to slip when I have the ac on because is the clutch engaging and disengaging. My father, who doesn't know much at all about cars , suggested a type of spray but I did some research and it would only be temporary. I wanted to ask if I should buy a new belt or if I should just tighten it instead?

Offline flying2275

• New Users
Re: Belts
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2017, 12:04:17 AM »
Check that the pulleys are not oily or greasy and then try tightening the belt. If that doesn't work, a new belt is less than $15 at most auto parts stores and is pretty easy to change with basic hand tools. I'd recommend taking a picture of the routing before removing the old one.

If it was me I would just change all the belts anyways if you don't know how old they are. They're such a simple thing but a pain when they break on you away from home.

Offline ehjorten

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2017, 12:26:54 PM »
Tension on V-belts can be a little tricky.  There is a tool to get the proper amount of tension, but I have found that the cheapo version of the tool doesn't work that well.  A good rule of thumb is that you make the belt nice and taunt without levering the accessory drive too much.  Take it for a spin and make sure you turn on the accessories.  If is squeals, give it a little more tension.  Too much tension can wear things out prematurely, like the bearings in your alternator.  What you are looking for is a certain amount of deflection in the mid-span of the belt with a given amount of force applied.  Do it a few times and you will get the feel for how tight to make them.