Author Topic: She's dying  (Read 2183 times)

Offline chiefmiller84

She's dying
« on: August 30, 2017, 05:00:02 PM »
Driving my truck the past few days she's wanting to die on me. I turned down the radio to hear it. Sounds like it's struggling for fuel. Should I just replace carb and pump or somewhere else to start? Maybe tuning carb (which I'm not experienced in at all)? It's a 1969 307 with a q-jet and stock tanks. 83 c10 swb dual tanks, but only running the left one.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Irish_Alley

• Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Family is not an important thing. It's everything.
Re: She's dying
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 05:20:34 PM »
i wouldnt start with the carb. could be a few other things fuel related or something totally different.
im going to see if i can find a checklist for you to use. but when was the last tune up or fuel filter replacement?
If you can’t tell yourself the truth, who can you tell it to?~Irish_Alley

When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth ~Sherlock Holmes

Offline Irish_Alley

• Tim
  • Global Moderator
  • Family is not an important thing. It's everything.
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 06:30:55 PM »
you can find the service manuals HERE. for trouble shooting i would go with the year of your truck.

more specifically you can find the engine diagnosis HERE. be prepared its a lot of pages, but that link will take you directly to section 6 which is the engine diagnosis
If you can’t tell yourself the truth, who can you tell it to?~Irish_Alley

When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth ~Sherlock Holmes

Offline bd

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 08:32:29 PM »
Dying at idle, while accelerating, while cruising - when?  Does it have an idle solenoid and is it working?
Rich
It's difficult to know just how much you don't know until you know it.