Author Topic: L31-r longblock EFI Project  (Read 3937 times)

Offline frankentruck

L31-r longblock EFI Project
« on: December 31, 2017, 06:11:06 PM »
I posted this elsewhere but I’m not sure if it was in the right spot...

Hello. Let me start by saying I’m not a mechanic. I’ve worked on small engines on motorcycles and air cooled vws. Other than that, just maintenance items on various vehicles. Let me also say, all in, I’m trying to keep this project under $4000 bearing in mind the longblock manifold, electronic ignition, EFI, serpentine setup and fuel tank/pump mods. Been kicking around what do with my truck for quite sometime now. Went back and forth on a Cummins swap, but decided to just buy a 1st gen cummins.

I finally settled on l31r vortec longblock from Chevy with a self learning efi system. I’m mostly focused on reliability and fuel economy. Don’t need a bunch of hp, just usable torque.

As the truck sits, it is a 327 with a t400 behind it. That little revver has to push my heavy 3/4 ton, t400, and Detroit locked 14-bolt & Dana 60 king pin front. It isn’t an ideal pairing. The fuel is supplied by dual saddle tanks, only one of which I use regularly. For now I’m sticking with that transmission until I can figure out something sweet like a 6l80e down the road.

My three questions are:

1. What is the best route on the fuel supply? Who makes the cheapest reliable solution to the efi fuel pump? I’ve seen quite a few inline ones that get okay feedback, but I can’t mount it lower than the k20s stock tanks, it would be to prone to getting damaged by a stick or rock. I don’t mind in tank setups as far as cutting one in (I’ll be using por -15 tank paint inside anyway). Who makes the most affordable in tank setup? I want to get ethanol compatible on pump, tank and lines.