Author Topic: New fuel pump, still no gas to carb  (Read 3551 times)

Offline fatastronaut

New fuel pump, still no gas to carb
« on: April 05, 2020, 09:13:27 PM »
Hello!

I've got a 1986 Chevy C10, 350 with a 700R4. Long story short: life happens, and unfortunately it's been sitting about a year and a half. Last time I started it, it fired up but was having trouble idling & kept stalling out.

Here's what's happened since I got back to work on it:

1) Replaced the dead starter, put in a brand new battery, and it's turning over great but still not firing.
 2) Pulled the line/hose that connects the fuel pump to the carb and it's bone dry.
 3) Installed a brand new fuel pump, still nothing getting up to the carb.
 4) Disconnected the new fuel pump to make sure I installed it correctly. Some gas leaked out of the line from the tank, but there was hardly anything coming out the other side of the pump. Wet with gas, but barely.

Forgive me - I'm a novice, and I know this will probably make some of you cringe, but in a moment of frustration I put a little gas on the carb, turned the key and...it fired up for a brief second before cutting out again.

Not sure what's preventing fuel from making the journey up to the carb. Would a dirty/out of tune carb make this happen? Another bad fuel pump? Blockage somewhere in the fuel line? Also, the push rod that activates the fuel pump - how hard should that be to move? Mine is pretty easy to move back & forth in there.

Any ideas as to what the problem could be, or what to test next? Any help is greatly appreciated! I love this truck and can't wait to get it back on the road. It continues to be a great learning experience.

« Last Edit: April 05, 2020, 09:17:50 PM by fatastronaut »
take it easy, but take it

Offline bd

• Global Moderator
Re: New fuel pump, still no gas to carb
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 12:26:05 AM »