Author Topic: Can I run my hei off the fuel pump relay?  (Read 1374 times)

Offline muldoon

Can I run my hei off the fuel pump relay?
« on: November 02, 2014, 10:37:58 AM »
I finally had time to get back to my truck.  Been a very busy few weeks with moving and huge work project workload.  Life ain't easy for a single dad. 

74 gmc sierra, 454, th400, edelbrock 750cfm. 

Anyway, I am still working my way through this truck and what previous owner did.  I am not a gearhead for a living, but I am not afraid to do my own work or get dirty.  I have done pretty much everything fuel and air related to date.  I have been on the "spark" learning curve lately. 

The truck did not have a timing tab at all, it has a mark on the balancer but there was no tab.  That was a tight fit to get it in, but it's there now. 

I pulled all the plugs to find tdc, using a compression test kit re-plumbed into a boost boost/vaccuum gauge.  I manually turned the crankshaft clockwise and watched piston come up (boost), and then drop (vacuum).  It took some time, but but TDC is established as "2" on the timing tab.

I decided to replace the distributor with the new cfr 65k hei I bought, and have installed.  Have it installed, plug wires back in. 

In the process of doing all of this, I pulled the msd6a that was installed.  I do not think I need it on this truck. 

Now I am wiring the HEI and I cannot find the install paper that came with the thing. 

It has two connections, IGN and TAC. 

For ignition, would it be better to come off the fuel pump relay I have installed instead of trying to tie into ignition circuit off the main panel block?  It gets battery power, but only when key on.  I tried looking this up and get conflicting information about using battery direct versus 12v switched.   I could use some guidance on this.