Author Topic: Replacing motor turned full strip down  (Read 2692 times)

Offline ddkeeler

• New Users
Replacing motor turned full strip down
« on: November 13, 2016, 09:45:53 PM »
I have been checking out this forum for several months, finally getting the time to share some of the work I've done on my 81 C10.

Well I ended up coming across this truck while trying to sell a 1986 Porsche 944 and some kid wanted to trade for the truck.

The truck had some pretty bad rust that the kid had cut out. (Total nightmare). But I am ok with doing panel replacement. I was excited that the engine appeared to be good and there were no transmission issues. I figured I am getting a great deal plus a bunch of extra parts.

Well made the deal. And in the process of driving home I had keep adding coolant due to a leak at the heater core.

Got home and repaired that. Then drove it around and there were clouds of blue smoke from oil hitting exhaust pipes. Went home and inspected everything. It was leaking from front seal and rear main seal as well as at oil pan.

Here are pics the day I brought it home. Not very good pics. I regret not taking more.

Here is part of the front end torn down. I decided I was going to just pull the motor and do a once over on everything.

Well after draining oil I removed oil pan and checked the internals, grabbed the flywheel and it moved a solid 1/16".
Tore it completely down and took it to the machine shop. Opted not to use this block as it needed about 800$ in work. (This was My first of many mistakes)

Bought a tbi complete motor from a friend. Intended on running efi but opted not to do this and use a new carb that I had.

Tore this guy all the way down and took it to machine shop. All this needed was a bore to .030 over so I got this block machined and started piecing together internals.

Ended up replacing every component on the engine.
Scat forged crank
Eagle I beam rods
Mahle pistons paired with 64cc chamber bumps compression to 10.5:1