Author Topic: What order to replace parts?  (Read 5677 times)

Offline kmanrsss

What order to replace parts?
« on: June 12, 2012, 06:35:00 PM »
Hi guys, I'm a newbie here. Picked up an 87 v20 that needs floor patch, cab corners and rockers. What's the best order to do these in? I'm new to body work but am goons give it a shot. I've already gotten the replacement kits from this site, and they seem like nice quality peices. Thanks for the input.

Offline Blazin

• Blazin new trails!
  • Global Moderator
Re: What order to replace parts?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 07:08:19 PM »
The correct way is to replace them all at the same time.
Does your cab mount need any work?
Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs

Offline Blazin

• Blazin new trails!
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 07:14:04 PM »
Remove the seat, floor mat, inner, and outer fenders. Cut out all the bad leaving the floor support that runs by the cab mount providing its not rotted out too. Trim the new pieces to fit and use self tapping hex head screws to hold everything in place to check for fitment of each of the parts, and the door.
If you do a search on this site in the body section you will find a couple articles on this process, with pics provided by myself and others.
Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs

Offline kmanrsss

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2012, 07:40:36 PM »
The cab mounts look ok. I have looked at your post and will be using in when I attemp this. Where in NH are you located? I'm just outside concord near Loudon. Are the fenders in the way, or is it easier to get them out of the way? Thanks

Offline thirsty

• Suitor's Garage
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2012, 08:36:44 PM »
I've already gotten the replacement kits from this site