Author Topic: removing 250, installing 350  (Read 2918 times)

Offline cardinalredC10

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
removing 250, installing 350
« on: December 07, 2005, 06:45:00 PM »
Hey guys,
I was curious if anyone has pulled a 250 or 292 and replaced it with a small block? I am not sure how much stuff I need to replace? Obviously things like brackets, motor mounts, a/c hoses, and the like need replacing, but what throttle linkage, the driveshaft, tranny kick down and things like that. This is my daily driver so the guys at the shop advised me to have evrything ready I need to save time and money, otherwise I would just cross these bridges later. Thanks.

Stephen
Houston, TX


Offline Blazin

  • Blazin new trails!
  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6130
Re: removing 250, installing 350
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2005, 06:35:00 AM »
The 250 mounts in the same position as the 350, 292s the RH mount needs to be moved forward. Mine was a standard so I am not sure about the kickdown but my throtle cable was also different. My power steering bracket was diferent as well. I made my 6 wire harness work but later swaped in a V8 one.

Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs

Offline Leadfoot

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 81
swap
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2005, 10:26:00 AM »
I swapped in a 406 sbc in place of a 250 once,motor bolted up to existing frame mounts,but motor didn't sit level..need to use V8 frame mounts.. tranny and driveshaft stay like they are,you don't change anything there.. throttle cable should be too long,but will work..don't recall on kickdown cable,but would think it would be long too??    


Offline bigblock73

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 504
  • Yeller
Re: swap
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2005, 11:41:00 AM »
A 250 will not bolt in the exact same spot as a 350.  You can use the same mounts and engine stands, but you need to move the mounts on the stand to the correct position.  There are two sets of holes, onle labeled "6", the other labeled "8"...6 being a six cylinder, 8 being an eight cylinder.  

...Jeff

'73 swb 2wd

73-87.com

Jeff

'73 swb 2wd

73-87.com

Offline roundedline

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
Re: swap
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2005, 11:42:00 AM »

Offline Blazin

  • Blazin new trails!
  • Global Moderator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6130
Re: swap
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2005, 03:18:00 PM »
This might be correct but I did not need to move anything in the 250 to 350 swap and only had to move the right hand mount in the 292to the 350 swap I did.

Some people are like Slinkies. Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs

Offline roundedline

  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2228
Re: swap
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2005, 05:25:00 PM »