Author Topic: Picked up an 84 military D30 at the auction today.  (Read 17284 times)

Offline fitz

Re: Picked up an 84 military D30 at the auction today.
« Reply #15 on: December 04, 2009, 06:11:56 PM »
Whitfield- Are these lockers you mention the Gov locks that people curse about or are those only used in the light duty trucks?
I've been playing around with chevy's for a long time but this is my first military truck, lots to learn about it.
Anyone have any clues as to why it would have a 208 in it (like I mentioned, it appears to be stock)

Offline Whitfield

• Building a V-3500 Crew Cab 4wd
« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2009, 06:26:26 PM »
Most likely it was a weight / efficency issue.  

OR GM got a heck of a deal on the 208's.

Your rear locker is a Detroit ~ The real McCoy

Front limited slip is a good one too.  The 1028 trucks bring a premium.

I've been researching shopping CUCV's for the last 5 years and they run about 3500 in drivable shape.  The 1028's in similar conditon usually start around 4500 and go up quick with some exceeding 6k.

I'm am no authority on these military trucks just a shift worker with time a computer and lots of interst.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2009, 05:55:13 AM by Whitfield »

Offline fitz

« Reply #17 on: December 04, 2009, 06:52:30 PM »
Was this a GSA online auction?

Sight unseen?

No, this is where it gets confusing.
 I have a used car license ( please note that I'm not trying use this form to sell this truck, I'm going to keep it for awhile) . The GSA auctions are at the same auction house that I attend. I usually skip the GSA auction because I've never seen anything cool like this there. Typically it's 4 year old Tauruses, Intrepids, Cargo vans and the like.