Author Topic: instrument cluster swap  (Read 11334 times)

Offline rich weyand

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1391
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2014, 11:36:35 PM »
Um, that IS a plug and play: swapping the pins around is no big deal, and all the wiring diagrams are here on the site.

Oh.  Buy the pin removal tool.  It's worth it, compared to buggering one up.
Rich

"Working Girl": 1978 K-10 RCSB 350/TH350/NP203 +2/+3 Tuff Country lift

Offline Captkaos

  • OWNER and Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18127
    • http://www.73-87chevytrucks.com
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2014, 11:52:25 PM »
putting a Tach where the clock is will be much more work than verifying where electrical pins are and moving them if necessary.
The 1979 from 1980 won't have more than 5 to move if any...

Offline LTZ C20

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3795
  • "I'm here for a good time" -George Strait
instrument cluster swap
« Reply #17 on: March 26, 2014, 12:09:18 AM »
Yea that's as plug and play as you can get. Adding an aftermarket one is more work. Especially if you want it in the cluster. You will have to cut out sections of the cluster for it to fit, run more wiring then needed for the factory swap, provide power, ground, and backlight signal. Not to mention finding a gauge that you like and fits there.

Trust me, I have a aftermarket tach too, mounted to the steering column. It's ok for now and works but one day I'm getting a whole new cluster from Dakota Digital.

Trust us, you will be pretty happy with a cluster swap.
LTZ Cheyenne C20

Offline KWKENUF

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 60
  • Newbie
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #18 on: March 26, 2014, 11:10:48 AM »
Oh.  Buy the pin removal tool.  It's worth it, compared to buggering one up.

There is a tool for this?  Please elaborate...

Offline LTZ C20

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 3795
  • "I'm here for a good time" -George Strait
instrument cluster swap
« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2014, 02:38:34 PM »
Yes there is. There's different types for different plugs. However, I usually use a small screwdriver, like for eye glasses or small detail work, to remove the terminals from the plug. As long as you don't force it you won't damage anything.
LTZ Cheyenne C20

Offline bake74

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 5871
    • Build Thread
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2014, 07:50:22 PM »
Oh.  Buy the pin removal tool.  It's worth it, compared to buggering one up.

There is a tool for this?  Please elaborate...

     You Tube has all kinds of video's on for these terminal release tools, some kits even cover a wide range of connectors.
#1: The easiest and most obvious solution to any problem is 99% of the time correct.
#2: There is no such thing as impossible, it just takes longer.
  74 k10, 77k10    Tom

Offline KWKENUF

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 60
  • Newbie
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2014, 08:10:06 PM »
I used a small screwdriver when I did mine too.  Worked just fine for me.  This is just the first time I have ever heard anyone speak of a specific tool for our particular trucks. 

Offline Sprinkler-Man

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 76
  • 80 GMC Sierra Classic 4x4
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2014, 08:53:44 PM »
Update on the cluster swap.  Everything went smoothly with the swap.  The only thing I had to modify was the hot lead end from the tach harness to fit in the fuse box.  I also ran the tach wiring out the same hole as the speedo cable by cutting a slit in the rubber fire wall grommet to let the wire fit in.  I now have a cluster with a factory tach and couldn't be happier. 

Offline rich weyand

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1391
Re: instrument cluster swap
« Reply #23 on: May 19, 2014, 11:14:57 AM »
Excellent.  Thanks for following up.
Rich

"Working Girl": 1978 K-10 RCSB 350/TH350/NP203 +2/+3 Tuff Country lift