Author Topic: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10  (Read 11523 times)

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« on: September 22, 2010, 12:42:57 PM »
question.......what is needed to put a ls1 or lt1 motor in my 85 c 10
(1) will need the wiring harness from the wrecked vett or get one from painless
(2) will need the trans that went with that motor
or option 2
run it with a carb ......and my stock th350
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2010, 02:55:59 PM »
You can run your stock th350 with either one just with the ls style motor you need a special crank spacer for the flexplate which is only like $50. I'm not sure on the harness for the lt1 but with a ls1 swap you can either buy a premade swap harness use the donars harness and mod it.the power/efficency of a ls motor is hard to beat the lt1 was a good motor but imo I'd go with the newer of the two.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline Captkaos

  • OWNER and Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18127
    • http://www.73-87chevytrucks.com
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2010, 02:34:28 PM »
Not a whole lot of info, but I would go with the newer of the 2 or the one with less miles
Either is fine, if you have patience you can go through the wiring, but it is a pain.

What is either motor out of?

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2010, 06:34:00 AM »
i'm thinking of getting a 5.3 ls1 out of a 2000 + chevy 1500 ................if i go this way willi need to get the computer with the motor
 i wont it to run efi or tpi what ever is on it .....my objective is torque and reliability .........i wonder is a crate motor cheaper and less of a hassle .......ebay has them for 3100       for 383
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2010, 10:46:55 AM »
I bought my 5.3 for my swap on ebay for $510 shipped with a 6month warranty and 90k on it. I have a lq4 harness on trade and bought a pcm from a member on ls1tech fr $50. Since mine is going in a car I also had to buy the ls1 car intake fuel rail and injectors. If you do your research and look around for deals they can be found.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2010, 04:52:20 PM »
thanks for the info screamin86............it helps...so what u r saying is the i would not have to but the 4l60e trans with the motor ..i thought i needed that trans because the motor was efi ......some guy told me the the detent cable would not hook up on th350 ......but if i ran a carb i be ok .............the thing is i dont want a carb ......the ls1 motors just look real COOL to me with the car intake on them ........so that what i wanna do ...u know its just a good feeling to be in a old square body chevy and someone want to look under the hood ...........when they see a ls1 or 2 etc in there ......that look on there face is priceless.......
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2010, 05:42:05 PM »
I'm not 100% sure on the detent cable I will not be using one in thw swap I'm doing in my body nor does my k10 have a detent cable(summit racing trans) but the truck has a old carbed 350. I'm sure there is a way to hook it up.ls1tech and ls1truck.com have a ton of info on swaps.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2010, 09:20:26 AM »
why do some say that a 5.3 or 6.0 (LQ4 and LQ9) out of 1500's  are not really LS1 motors they (its a truck version of it )  just look like them but not are the same block ...........the LS were put in cars vettes,transams,camaro,trail blaser ss,gto .....but i think the intake are still swappable ........the car intake are low profile (real LS look)..............i found a website that has everything about lt,ls and any other motor ......however they part HAVE A  SUPER PRICEon them ...................www.hotrodlane.cc.com
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2010, 11:54:08 AM »
Imo the 5.3/6.0 truck motors are a heck of a deal! I've got the ls1 car intake fuel rail and all on my 5.3. I'd take one of those over a high dollar aluminum ls1
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2010, 05:41:05 PM »
well i been doing alot of reseach online and i think i got it figured out for the swap........5.3 or 6.0 out of a 2000-2003 1500 or 2500 truck with pcm, gas pedal,tach, engine and trans harness ,and a set of motor mount adapters ..sending unit from 87 efi c-10 for the tank .......if i want to run ac i will need to get a bracket off a vett LS1 ....they sit up hight .....ON TRUCK THEY ARE LOW AND WONT CLEAR MOTOR MOUNT ...............now i just need to get to work on it  finding parts......from what i have read this is what every swapper used that used engine and trans ......thanks for ur info screamin86........
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #10 on: September 26, 2010, 09:58:42 PM »
You should only need the pedal if you are using a dbw(drive by wire) setup which were on I know the 03+ 5.3s I think the same for the 6.0s and all the vettes had it.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2010, 10:08:00 PM »
Ill get you some pictures of my swap plates and trans adapter along with my 5.3 with ls1 intake.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline 305chevy c-10

  • Frequent Member
  • **
  • Posts: 292
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #12 on: September 27, 2010, 02:59:46 AM »
ok cool...........also where did u get these trans plate from
Heartbeat of America yesterday's cheverolet
18T5C10

Offline screamin86

  • Junior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 661
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #13 on: September 27, 2010, 10:12:08 AM »
The motor mount plates were from carshop and the crank spacer I got from gm parts direct but summit also has the crank spacer.
86 k10 lwb 4x4:350 .040 214/224 444/466 112lsa performer rpm 1406 lt's summit racing th350 2800stall
03 yukon xl:tint debadge full boltons
86 ta:lm7 hot cam boltons

Offline Captkaos

  • OWNER and Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Senior Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18127
    • http://www.73-87chevytrucks.com
Re: lt1 or ls 1 in my 85 c10
« Reply #14 on: September 27, 2010, 02:51:26 PM »
Get the motor plate from Summit, they are WAY cheaper.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/TRD-4572/