Author Topic: Vacuum hose cluster bomb 1985 c10 silverado  (Read 27035 times)

Offline fragmental

Vacuum hose cluster bomb 1985 c10 silverado
« on: August 11, 2012, 11:20:09 PM »
I'm working on a 1985 chevrolet...I thought it was a silverado, but just read that silverado is a trim designation for this year.  It's probably a c10.  I know it has a 305. 

The engine was rebuilt over a year ago and the guy who put it in made a mess of all the other parts.  I think he he considered anything that wasn't part of the engine unnecessary.  Right now I'm just trying to get all the vacuum hoses routed correctly but I know very little about the vacuum system.  I'm not a mechanic. My knowledge is limited and what I do know is mostly for the 92 jeep and 84 toyota that I ocassionally work on.

The vehicle emission label is missing.  I think I've found the right vacuum diagram but I'm not sure.

I spent all of this afternoon trying to identify everything in the diagram.  I think some things may be missing.  I've identified most things but there are still some things I'm unsure of. 

1. The only thing that should not be put back in the vehicle, as far as I know, is the smog pump.   From this diagram that looks to me like only 1 hose being plugged, yet I think the "dvtvr vlv" has 3 hose ports on it.

2.  What I think I've identified as the manifold vacuum source looks like it has 3 hose ports on it.

3. What is this? (Edit)  I'm fairly certain this is the "egr bleed sol" on the diagram.  It may also be called an egr vacuum solenoid.

I have more pictures of this if needed for identification.

I have a lot more questions, but the truck is not with me and I think this is enough for now. 
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 03:06:07 AM by fragmental »

Offline 1980c10

Re: Vacuum hose cluster bomb 1985 c10 silverado
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 10:19:43 PM »