Author Topic: Chopping wood advice please  (Read 7351 times)

Offline zieg85

• Global Moderator
    • 73-87 GM squarebody extended cab and conversions up to 91 R/V series
Chopping wood advice please
« on: January 10, 2013, 05:12:02 PM »
Hello everyone, I just had 2 huge (3+foot in diameter) oak trees cut down to make way for a new shop planned for this spring to be built.  I am wanting to know if it would be better to split the wood now or let it age till the spring and then split it.  I know I can't use it for at least a year anyway and would have to rent a splitter to do the work.  Any lumberjack/firewood experts please chime in as I am a newbie at this.  Thanks in advance.
Carl 
1985 C20 Scottsdale 7.4L 4 speed 3.21
1986 C10 under construction
https://www.facebook.com/groups/248658382003506/

Offline Da67goatman

• Site Supporters
  • Burban
Re: Chopping wood advice please
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2013, 05:17:12 PM »
It will actually split very well if it is frozen, so if you get a nice long cold spell take the opportunity to split some otherwise see if you can keep as much off the ground as possible till spring.
<Pitcrew>
1989 R2500 Suburban mild 350 TBI 700r4 10.5" 14bolt 4.10 w/ 33s
1992 fullsize Blazer 4x4  35s no lift, 4.10s, Hella driving lights, TJ Flares, Huge bumpers, Snorkel, custom interior

Offline thirsty

• Suitor's Garage
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2013, 06:57:08 PM »
Oak takes a few years to season properly. I agree with Da67goatman about wood splitting easier in the winter. Get it split as soon as you can to start the process. With 3' diameter oak make sure you get a splitter that works vertically. Stack it outside with something just over the top so the air and sunshine get it, this will speed up the seasoning process more than putting it right in the wood shed. Once that oak is ready to burn you will have some High Performance firewood!
Real trucks are built, not bought Build thread