Author Topic: How to shift np203 transfer case properly.  (Read 40501 times)

Offline Chadwick717

How to shift np203 transfer case properly.
« on: April 06, 2014, 07:15:24 AM »
Hey guys. Newbie here with an extreme newbie question. I just picked up a 79 c-10. Through this
forum I've been able to do some searches and I figured out that I have a np203 transfer case and a part time kit. (The truck moves in hi without the front hubs locked.)  I am however, having trouble shifting the transfer case, and making sure I am in hi only.  What is the proper process for shifting between lo lock, lo , hi , hi lock?   And how do I make sure I am in hi only?  Thanks so much for the help I have learned so much already here.

Offline rich weyand

Re: How to shift np203 transfer case properly.
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 09:44:25 AM »
It's easy to figure out from the shifter, unless your shifter is loose, so I am assuming your shifter is loose.  Also, there is a switch on the shifter box that indicates on the dash, so I am also assuming your dash indicator is non-functional.

First thing.  There is a chrome piece of the shifter that sticks up out of the boot into the cab.  There is an unchromed piece that actually goes into the shifter box on the front of the transfer case.  These are bolted together under the boot.  If they get loose, the shifter will feel wobbly, and move around without shifting the shifter box.

Remove the boot -- four screws, trim ring comes off; four more screws, boot comes off.  Identify the two bolts in the shaft.  Tighten 'em up.  Replace boot and trim ring.  The shifter should now be solid in whatever position you shift the case into, and you can tell what mode it is in by the distance the knob is from the seat.