Author Topic: My 78 k10 4x4 build thread -454 install / build -1 ton axles- frame restoration  (Read 332705 times)

Offline FearNoMan78k10

• A project turned into a complete rebuild
I am new to the site.my name is Andrew, I'm 25 , married , live in the mountains of Colorado and I am disabled from a car accident . I love 4x4's , It's something I've always been into since a kid , all I've owned since 15 was trucks, I just love trucks, Ford doesn't count they dont make a real truck they sell problematic headaches of vehicles , I was a diesel mechanic and Ford was most of our business because they broke down all the time lol, anyways love trucks , dislike the wanna be Ford nation of "truck" drivers. Lol anyways ...   I have a 78 k10 4x4. I purchased it about 2 months ago. I just got new tires for it, 33x12.50r16 Hancook Dynapro mud terrains. It has a 12 bolt rear and 10 bolt front right now. So a 6 lug and it had a 305 small block in it. It has the 205 transfer case and manual locking hubs right now. As well as the 4 speed manual transmission. I am installing a 454 out of a 1972 chevelle ss in this truck, it is a high performance original block. It is bored over .030 thousandths and is getting a makeover throughout, I have a dana 60 kingpin straight axle with disc brakes for the front and a dana 70 for the rear axle. So that is all getting installed and worked on to be brief, also complete frame restoration !. 4 inch lift will be added during this project as well as many other items.  If you would like more details or want to follow just let me know !
« Last Edit: April 21, 2014, 01:29:15 PM by FearNoMan78k10 »
78 k10 4x4

Offline bake74

• Build Thread
Re: 78 k10 engine swap and 1 ton axles
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 07:09:39 PM »
     With a SM465 (I assume that is the transmission you are putting in it), and 1 ton axles, this thing should be a beast on wheels.
#1: The easiest and most obvious solution to any problem is 99% of the time correct.